Leadership

Co-Executive Directors

Thomas Smith, Ph.D., UCLA
Co-director, Congo Basin Institute
Distinguished Professor, Dept. of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Founder & Director, Center for Tropical Research
Institute of the Environment and Sustainability
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1496 USA
Phone: (310) 206-6234
Email: tbsmith@ucla.edu


Bernard Vanlauwe, Ph.D., IITA
Co-director, Congo Basin Institute
Director, R4D Central Africa and Natural Resource Management
Nairobi Station
International Institute of Tropical Agriculture
Nairobi, Kenya
Email: b.vanlauwe@cgiar.org


Joint Steering Committee

Thomas Smith, Ph.D., UCLA (Chair)

Bernard Vanlauwe, Ph.D., IITA
Director, Natural Resource Management and Central Africa Hub, IITA, Nairobi

Kathryn Atchison, DDS, MPH, UCLA
Professor, School of Dentistry
Vice Provost, New Collaborative Initiatives

Kenton Dashiell, Ph.D., IITA
DDG Partnerships and Capacity Development

Steven Olsen, UCLA
Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer, UCLA


Advisory Council

Nicola Anthony
University of New Orleans Lead
103A Biology Building
Email: nanthony@uno.edu
Phone: 504-280-1362
Anthony Lab


Tim Bonebrake
University of Hong Kong Lead
School of Biological Sciences
University of Hong Kong
Pok Fu Lam Road, Hong Kong SAR, China
Office: 6S-15 Kadoorie Biological Sciences Building
Lab: 6S-16 Kadoorie Biological Sciences Building
Email: tbone@hku.hk
Phone: (852) 2299 0675


Mark Cappellano

Mark Cappellano
Conservation Action Research Network Lead
Email: mcappellano@me.com


Patricia Conrad

Patricia Conrad
UC Davis Lead
Email: paconrad@ucdavis.edu
Faculty profile page


Marius Ekue
Biodiversity Lead
Email: m.ekue@cgiar.org


Katy Gonder
Drexel University Lead
Department of Biology
Office: PISB 420
Email: mkg62@drexel.edu
Phone: 215.571.4638
Gonder Laboratory


David Horak

David Horack
Charles University Lead
Email: david.horak@natur.cuni.cz


Kelechi Kalu

Kelechi Kalu
UC Riverside Lead
Email: kelechi.kalu@ucr.edu
Kalu’s faculty profile page


Erik Svensson

Erik Svensson
Lund University Lead
Email: erik.svensson@biol.lund.se
Svensson’s faculty profile page


Zac Tchoundjeu
IBAY-SUP Lead
Email: Z.Tchoundjeu@cgiar.org


Peter Wrege
Director, Elephant Listening Project
Cornell Lab
Email: phw2@cornell.edu
Website profile

Other leaders

Kevin Njabo

Kevin Yana Njabo, Ph.D., UCLA
Africa Director
Center for Tropical Research
Institute of the Environment and Sustainability
University of California, Los Angeles
La Kretz Hall, Suite 300
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1496
Phone: (310) 267-5132
Email: kynjabo@ucla.edu


Virginia Zaunbrecher,  J.D., UCLA
Associate Director
Center for Tropical Research
Institute of the Environment and Sustainability
University of California, Los Angeles
La Kretz Hall, Suite 300
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1496
Phone: (310) 794-1337
Email: zaunbrecher@ucla.edu


Matthew LeBreton
Senior Research Fellow, Center for Tropical Research
Email: mlebreton@mosaic.cm


Vincent Deblauwe

Vincent Deblauwe, Ph.D
Postdoctoral Scholar
Congo Basin Institute
Email: v.deblauwe@cgiar.org


Ruksan Bose, Ph.D.
Instructor & Postdoctoral Scholar
Congo Basin Institute


Cargele Masso
IITA Country Representative / Congo Basin Institute
Email: c.masso@cgiar.org


Komi Fiaboe
Entomologist
Congo Basin Institute
Email: k.fiaboe@cgiar.org


Rachid Hanna
Senior Researcher
Former Co-Director, Congo Basin Institute
Email: rachidhanna01@gmail.com
Dr. Hanna’s CV